The Minister of Labour and Social Security, Hon Brenda Tambatamba has urged the new NAPSA Board of Trustees to serve the members with integrity and support the institution by providing oversight and ethical leadership to management .

The Minister was speaking when she inaugurated the new NAPSA Board of Trustees  at the Hilton Garden Inn in Lusaka.

“Each one of you has been appointed to the board based on the unique and varied skills sets, knowledge and exposure that you have. I would therefore urge you all to harness and bring to the table your varied knowledge in providing oversight and propelling this institution to higher heights in line with tenets of good governance and ethical leadership” she said.

Hon. Tambatamba, said the government recognised social security as a tool for protecting and promoting the welfare and livelihoods of the vulnerable as well as the general citizenry in the country. She emphasised the critical role or the Board of Trustees in achieving this mandate.

“The Authority plays a strategic role in growing the economy of this country in terms of job and wealth creation. Therefore, as trustees you have a fiduciary responsibility to ensure that the members contributions are prudently invested in viable projects to guarantee payment of benefits and also to contribute to national economic growth,”

The Minister urged the Board of trustees to provide ethical leadership to and effective supervision of management for the Authority to live up to its mandate.

“You should leverage the divergent expertise of the Board, good economic policies of the new dawn government, and commitment to good governance and to build on the gains the institution has made so far and close the gaps so that we can deliver on our mandate and meet the needs and expectations of your members and the citizens of this country.”

She further urged the Board to undertake the necessary reforms to make the institution responsive to people’s prevailing and future needs and pledged continued government support.

“The new dawn government has promised the Zambian people a responsive social security system that answers to their needs. This will call for comprehensive and robust pension reforms during your tenure on the Board of NAPSA. It is therefore my expectation that Board of Trustees for NAPSA will provide appropriate direction to NAPSA management in operationalising the government’s aspiration in pension reforms. I am aware that NAPSA is currently faced with other operational challenges that will require your immediate attention. These include the revision of the penalty rate, enhancement of the principal act to cure inherent inadequacies; and closure of the defunct ZNPF, to mention but a few.

“My ministry will continue to provide policy direction and leadership to ensure that this institution delivers to the expectations of the people of Zambia.  We will support you and your management team in your quest to extend coverage to the informal sector and improve the value of benefits to all members,” she said.   .

NAPSA Director General, Mr. Yollard Kachinda expressed his delight of having the new Board of Trustees in place and reiterated the Authority’s readiness to work with the trustees towards the common goal of ensuring that NAPSA delivered on its key mandate of providing income security through payment of benefits to members and contributing to economic growth.

And giving a vote of thanks on behalf of the Board of Trustees, Mr Chishimba Nkole thanked the Minister of Labour and Social Security and the Government for the trust and confidence shown in the team and pledged to work hard to deliver to the expectations of all the stakeholders. He reiterated that the Board was aware of the immense expectations from the Zambian people and that the Board would work towards meeting those expectations as far as social security was concerned.

The new Board of Trustees that was inaugurated included;


  • Kampatha Botha
  • Nkole Chishimba
  • Mrs Mukamasole Kasanda
  • Emmanuel Malukutila
  • Mzinga Melu
  • Victor Muyumba
  • Mrs Myra Ngoma
  • Kennedy Njamba
  • Mrs Mwila Zulu
  • Ms Agness Manza – Alternate member